Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yeah! I’ve finally completed my Abandoned on Earth story here on my blog!(the index link is up in the navigation bar) I really would like to thank all those who have read the chapters, liked them and even commented on a few. Something that started off as a whim, and a writing exercise has become a 56k novel. I’m surprised at the direction the story actually took, I really had no plot or outline for it, only a faint idea of how I wanted it to end. The journey was each chapter and what came out when I began to write, new characters were thrown in, some of which became larger parts than I had anticipated while other sub plots seemed to have been lost, or thrown away for new ones. I definitely learned a lot through this process, the main lesson was that pantsing is not a way to go. You may discover halfway through the story that things shifted and changed as I began to actually make an outline, and try to connect dots i made early on, some worked, others didn’t. I think my whole tone changed halfway through now that I think about it. It doesn’t help that I started writing this a year ago, so it’s been a while since I read the early chapters lol.

Now that is completed I am now look forward to new projects to keep my occupied. I still will like to post my Harry Potter Fanfiction and I still plan to start that this fall, though it may be closer to October than September, but I’ll get around to that eventually. I will also need to start spending time on my research and backstories for my official NaNoWriMo novel. I keep getting new ideas for my main character, new looks, new personalities as well as subplots and other high school drama to include. We’ll see how that turns out, I may start posting some characters and backstories here to get some feedback.

I’ve also have been leaning back to a fantasy story idea that keeps floating around in my head. I’ve always wanted to write a ‘Fairy’ story, something that is inspired by the Winx Club TV children’s show, and the Tinkerbell movie series, with some Avatar The Last Airbender thrown in. Actually most of the time when I think about writing a fantasy with magic, I always lean towards elemental magic. I’m sure that’s common, I’ve ran across many fantasy stories that goes back to elements as their roots. Still, it’s something the jives with me and I would like to try my hand at it sometime. I’ve already got my four girls in mind, Air, Earth, Fire and Water, and even contemplating a boarding school setting where they are all roommates. There’s no plot yet, or even names, just their faces, and personalities that pop out at me during sleep. So until I can find a plot for them, they will have to remain in my imagination.

For now, I’m taking a bit of a break, i’ve got books to read, TV shows to watch, and some sewing and quilting to work on. (I’m currently at block 26 of 30 for my Doctor Who quilt!!) I just purchased Crunchyroll, an anime and japanese show channel similar to netflix. I’ve sort of been going overboard, been able to catch up on Bleach, Fairytale and even better they just released Cardcaptor Sakura, an anime i loved back when I was in high school! I’m sure with all these anime now available at my fingertips i’ll be inspired by new things in a very short time.

