Tags

, , ,

This past weekend I read Natacha’s blog about Reading Habits, which was really fun, and interesting to learn what habits others have when it comes to reading. So I thought i’d give it a try to post my own answers to the questions. Feel free to answer the questions yourself!

Question #1: Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
My bedroom. I can read wherever, though I find it more comfortable and relaxing to read on my bed. I think that’s due to the fact that growing up, my bedroom was the only area I can be alone so it became my reading refuge.

Question #2: Bookmark or a random piece of paper?
I’ve been a bookmark person for most of my life. Though, lately i’ve been using business cards i’ve collected at conventions. I have a few anime trading cards too that I’ve been using. I’m at the point now that I’ll use whatever is lying around. (Mostly because i’ve lost all of my regular bookmarks).

Question #3: Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, etc.?
I like to read up to the chapter break and end there… however there have been times when something comes up and I have to leave in the middle of a chapter. I try not to do it, but it happens.

Question #4: Do you eat or drink while reading?
Because I read mostly just before I go do bed, I don’t eat, and rarely drink, water or tea.

Question #5: Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?
Music and TV can be distracting to me, when i read, I can’t have anything else going on in the background.

Question #6: One book at a time, or several at once?
As a teenager I always had at least two books on a go, the book for English class, plus the book i’m reading for fun. I try to read one book at a time, though I end up with a couple on the go, usually when I get bored with one book, I may start another one to get me going again.

Question #7: Reading at home or everywhere?
I’m pretty good at reading on the go, but I prefer to read at home.

Question #8: Reading out loud or silently in your head?
This is difficult… I read silently MOST of the time. Sometimes, especially if i’m trying to focus in a busy environment, i may begin to mumble the words. (I do that when I write too).

Question #9: Do you read ahead or skip pages?
I never skip ahead! lol, I have a dad who likes to tease my mom and I by grabbing our book and flip to a random page and begin to read out loud. Spoilers.

Question #10: Breaking the spine or keeping it new?
I myself try not to break the spine when reading, however I believe it says something about a book when it is worn and the spine is broken. I have had several books that i’ve re-read over the years that end up with the spin broken by the end of it.

Question #11: Do you write in books?
No. Something about that feels wrong to me. lol. The only exceptions would be workbooks and some self-help books that leaves lines for you to place your answers in. The only time i’ve been able to write, highlight and underline in a book is my Bible. For some reason that is alright to me.

