Tags

, , , , , ,

YES! Even though I started late to the #GreenGablesReadalong group, I still managed to finish the first book before the end of January. Two weeks, given my schedule, I feel pretty proud, even though the book is not as long nor as difficult as it seemed when I was a kid. lol.

So… now for my thoughts, and review! There’s so much I want to share, i’m not sure if i’ll be able to get my thoughts straight and all down in this blog – but i’ll try!

Back Cover Description:

The Cuthberts of Green Gables had decided to adopt an orphan – a nice sturdy boy to help Mathew with the farm chores. The orphanage sent a girl instead – a mischievous, talkative redhead who’d be no use at all. She would just have to go back. But the longer Anne was there, the more no one could imagine Green Gables without her.

The book covers the life of Anne Shirley, a red headed orphan who is adopted by Mathew and Marilla Cuthbert, even though they had wanted a boy. Brought to Prince Edward Island, Anne falls in love with the country scenery and Green Gables.

It’s actually hard for me to do a review that i’m used to with this book, as most of the chapters depict the adventures Anne has over the years at Green Gables. There was the time she broke the slate over Gilbert’s head; tried to dye her hair black – but it turned out green; made Diana drunk; and put liniment in the cake. Okay, not all of those are in order, but it shows the many mistakes and lessons Anne learned over the book, each making her a little better in the end, after all… “I don’t make the same mistake twice” – as Anne would say.

I admit, it took me a while to get into the story. Part of the reason is that i felt rush to catch up to many others who had started at the beginning of January, the other part was that I found it difficult to keep up with Anne and her ramblings in the early stages of the book. A difference from the first time I read it. It has been a while, maybe even 10 years or more since I read Anne of Green Gables, I do remember loving it, and enjoying Anne’s imagination and romantic side.

Now… as an adult I found myself caring more for Marilla and her side of the story instead of Anne’s. Marilla has now become my new favourite heroine, even though she is not considered the main character of the book. When I first read the story as a child, I saw Marilla as a stern, if not strict woman who wouldn’t allow Anne to have “puffed” sleeves, yet grows to accept and appreciate Anne as the years go on. This time around… I saw Marilla’s heart more in the beginning. It was always in the small things, but it was clear, just as Mathew was taken by Anne in the beginning, so was Marilla.

There’s more too, the way Marilla also encourages Anne in a career, when the times were still not there yet and many thought as careers and higher education not a woman’s thing. So there was some “feminism” in Marilla. lol.

The hair styles and the clothing fashion still confuse me, as much as I have the TV shows as a ground point, I still struggle with the date and times when the novel happens. There are no dates actually given in the book, and seeing that Canada was always behind Europe and Islanders even more so, it doesn’t really help. But this is just my own random thoughts on the subject.

I will say this, to end the review. The ending of the book got to me more than I ever remember. I was crying last night in the last couple of chapters, bawling! It was so well written, and L.M. Montgomery did such a great job pulling at my heartstrings.

I am eager to start the next book, I always liked the later books more than the first. This may be blasphemy to some, but the older Anne is much more tame yet still fierce in the good ways that we love. I can’t remember which book it was, but it was when Anne had the tower room in an old manner as she taught at some other Academy… is that the second or third one? Whichever – THAT has always been my favourite book.

I think that has covered most of what I wanted to say. L. M. Montgomery has always been one of my favourite authors, and inspiration to me. I really believe that these books at an early age has helped me in striving to be a writer and author myself. I doubt I will ever capture the heats and imaginations of as many young children as well as she, but I do ow L. M. Montgomery a lot of my imaginations, and ambition to.

