Tags

, , , ,

The Way
2010
Director: Emilio Estevez
Stars: Martin Sheen, Emilio Estevez, Deborah Kara Unger, Yorick van Wageningen, James Nesbitt

Synopsis:

A father heads overseas to recover the body of his estranged son who died while traveling the “El camino de Santiago,” and decides to take the pilgrimage himself.

Back when I wrote about watching Walking the Camino: Six ways to Santiago, it was mentioned I should watch “The Way”, another movie about the Camino, but this one more fictional.

I immediately searched Netflix and found the movie. As with Walking the Camino, the movie took my breath away. Full of wonderful scenery along the trail, the movie holds a deeper meaning as we follow a father who deals with the sudden death of his son.

Tom (the father played by Martin Sheen) has a strained relationship with his son. Always wanting him to push for an education and career while his son, Daniel (played by Emilio Estevez) wanted to see the world. Tom receives a call from Paris, France that his son died on his first day of walking the Camino. He then goes to Paris to bring his son home, only to decide last minute to walk the pilgrimage himself, to finish what his son started.

This movie has so much heart in it, it made me cry in just the first twenty minutes. Despite the estrangement between father and son, it is clear that Tom is deeply hurt and saddened by the sudden loss.

Not only do we travel with Tom and watch him struggle with is grieve, placing handfuls of his son’s ashes along the trail as he goes; but we experience how friendships are formed along the way. Tom picks up several colorful characters while walking, each with their own past, baggage and purpose for being there.

There is so much to say about this movie, and I lack the words to describe it. I highly recommend this movie to everyone. Not only do you get a glimpse into the scenery of Spain, but the story holds so much inspiration to take away with you after.

I am still planning my own Camino walk, though it may not be as soon as I like. It is on my bucket list and I do hope that one day I can witness these wonderful views for myself.

