Tags

, ,

Anne of Ingleside
L.M. Montgomery
1939

Better late than never! To continue the #greengablesreadalong challenge, I dove into Anne of Ingleside.

I’ve noticed a trend in the last couple of Anne books, mostly dealing with the society of women and what is expected of them. I do not agree with the society, but I’ve learned and come to accept that was the era these books were written in, so close to the time when women were fighting for the vote in Canada. It is a part of our history and we must realize that times were different in the past and learn from them for the future.

It was because I had these uncomfortable feelings with the past two books that I went into Anne of Ingleside a little worried. This was my second time reading it and I did not remember much. I was worried that there will be more social politics at play, keeping women at home and without a voice. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

Anne of Ingleside dealt with Anne and her children, actually it felt that most of the book was set through the eyes of her children as they grew up. When we last left Anne in House of Dreams, Jem was just born and they had moved into the Glen. This book opens with Jem at eight years old, as well as introducing us to the other four children of the house; Walter, the twins Nan and Di, Shirley, and later in the book the birth of Rilla, their sixth.

Yes, we did have a few of Anne’s misadventures, including the time when she tried to be matchmaker to two youths who had already fallen love and were getting married. The end of the book also dealt with Anne’s relationship with Gilbert. After all their years together she begins to feel they have entered into a ‘habit’ with each other and worried that she could not keep him interested anymore.

Those were nice stories, but I really enjoyed the ones about the children and their own adventures. The entire book felt like a collection of short stories, yes they were all chronological as the kids aged through the book, but it was disjointed in areas as we moved from one child to the next to read their own innocent outlook and dealing with life around them.

I’m not sure which child story I enjoyed the most, there were several, but I believe I enjoyed Nan’s the best. I’m not sure why but I felt a connection to the young girl as I read her. Maybe it’s because we both have brown hair, or maybe – and probably is because we both have wild imaginations that we keep to ourselves. The story about Nan and the GLOOM HOUSE, was touching. Nan had fantasied and romanced this abandoned house in the Glen, when she hears that someone had moved into it, she begins to fantasied who the woman could be. Her imagination gets away with herself as she builds the story up until finally she is asked to deliver a package to the woman at the house. Beside herself with excitement, she set’s off, only to have her dreams destoryed by reality. The GLOOM HOUSE was nothing more than a run down building and the fair maiden that lived there turned out to be a kind old woman. It’s the pop of the fantasy you build in your head of a place you’ve never been to, when you arrive it’s never as good as you thought it would be. I have had that happen to me in the past.

Anne of Ingleside is a very light hearted book, and had some great insights of married life, with children – and an extended relative that refused to leave. I’m sure many of these stories had some basis in life, or at least it felt like they could be actual situations. I really enjoyed the book, and life at Ingleside.

