Tags

, ,

A week into NaNo and I’m already struggling. It started back a few days ago when I realized I had to describe my magic academy/school. A castle with white stone and many other architecture structures that I’m at a lost to describe. It caused me to look back and realize my description has always fallen short.

During NaNoWriMo, the pressure is one for word count, and for me it’s to get my plot out on paper. I tend to write plot driven novels with character development as an outcome. Put a character in a number of conflicts and see how they handle it and how they change by the end. This story is no different, my character is nervous, and a bit fearful at her own powers, my hope is by the end she becomes more confident and accepts herself for who she is.

So I leap over description in my nano novels. Something I need to perhaps change in the future. Past that small hurdle in my writing saga, I have almost come to a complete halt in writing all together.  Before I knew it I was at the end of my plotting. My story is not finish, nowhere near to it, but I had only plotted the first nine chapters – and ended up stretching it to twelve. With the twelfth almost complete I realize I don’t know where to go next. My current main character i was using for my POV seems to suddenly got boring. I also had the issue of how to raise the steaks, to keep the conflict going.

Thankfully I remembered advice from past NaNo’s and switched perspectives to another character. It helped me get through tonight’s hour of writing, as well as plot out the next four chapters.

After that I may be struggling once more to find a direction where to take my novel. So many worries, so many words left to write!

My mind is closing in on mud at this time, so apologies if my post seems off. lol

For all those participating in NaNoWriMo, have you come across any hurdles yet? 

