Tags

, , , , ,

20184

Your Lie in April
Written & Illustrated by Naoshi Arakawa.

This anime was first discovered by me about a year ago while I was going through Pintrest and following some Anime Boards. What caught me were the images/art/anime of this blond-haired girl playing the violin. It was beautiful and I wanted to know where the images were from. Finally I found the title of the manga/anime series and lo and behold – found it on Netflix a few weeks later. I at once began to watch it and fell deeply in love this one season show.

The story surrounds a Piano prodigy Kosei Arima, who as a child dominated the competition stage in Japan under the tutelage of his mother. After his mother’s death, Kosei develops a mental block and could no longer hear the music notes and gave up Piano. Two years later Kosei has a very monochrome outlook at life, avoid of colour, living his life with his friends and not touching the piano.

That is until he meets a blond hair girl – under the cherry blossom tree. A mysterious girl who changes everything in his life. Kaori Miyazono is a free-spirited violinist who plays the violin like a maniac and makes it her mission to help Kosei return to the world of music, showing him how free and moving music can be than his structured and rigid style Kosei grew up with.

That in itself is he focus of the first five or six episodes. It’s about Kaori pushing Kosei out of his depressed zone and back onto the stage, giving him hope, comfort and helping him through the fear and mental block he felt. She opens his eyes to a world of colour – and it’s not long before you see their friendship turn into something special.

maxresdefault

However – be warned. By this time you also begin to notice things about Kaori that will make you cry your eyes out. Yes, the majority of the last half of episodes I was crying like a baby. It is heartfelt and heartbreaking at the same time and I recommend if you are anything like me to have a box of Kleenex next to you as you watch. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not bad but absolutely lovely that you can’t turn off the show and feel compelled to keep watching.

The anime is also full of classical music which adds to the drama and the mood of the film. It’s used to convey many feelings and variations on classical pieces that are moving in their own right. The anime seems to focus on colour for music and uses many description words around colours to reflect how the person is playing. It’s different and well animated to really get the mood and feelings of the crowd as they listen to the characters play.

I don’t want to give away too much about this anime, I’m afraid of ruining it for those who haven’t seen it and preventing them from seeing it if they do not like the sad parts of the story. Despite crying like a baby through most of this anime, I absolutely love it and it’s characters. I only wish I could develop characters like these on my own. They are so relatable in so many ways. They go through the steps of friendships and how these young teenagers begin to realize more about their selves and what love is or means to them. Yes, it can be seen as a teenage romance in ways but it goes much deeper than that.

I recommend this anime series to anyone who loves a good story about hope and facing fears. I really hope you enjoy it and feel moved by it as I was.

